Posted by: A. Voter | May 7, 2008

praise the lord and pass the motion?

Now, usually I like to think that I’m on top of things.  However, I was shocked the other day to learn that they start off each legislative session where I live with the Lord’s Prayer.  In this day and age?

The only reason I know about this is because apparently the issue of whether to scrap the prayer or not has become a very pressing issue over the last few days.

When this was announced, so many irate people Emailed the legislature to complain that their website crashed!

I mean – they cut our public health care significantly and people responded by saying “Oh well.”  The roads are in a shambles and no one really complains about that.  But mess with the prayer?  That, apparently, is worth public vitriol and comment.

Seems to me that this is a bit skewed.  Politicians praying might have been OK, in my view, when Parliament looked like this:

However, we’re now in the 21st century.  High time to let go of little comforting rituals which may well be offensive to many, in my view.

Perhaps it would be more beneficial to start asking the politicians exactly what it is that they are praying for. I can think of a few things I’d add to that list, myself.

Responses

  1. OHMYHOLYGODWHETHERYOUBELIEVEINHERORNOT!!!!
    I just got done Friday with a client whose foster parents are trying to MAKE her go to church! AS IF!!!!! Luckily the Master (with whom I don’t often agree this time was right on) said, “they don’t get to make her go to church. Separation of church and state, reMEMber????” I said, THANK you your Honor:)” ever so sweetly….
    AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!!!!!!

  2. It really doesn’t matter to me one way or the other but if we were being fair wouldn’t we have to concede that the people that want to pray have just as much right to do it as others have to not do it if they so choose?

  3. Dear anonymous – why of course! that’s exactly right! But not to force others to do it too! It’s like that old adage, A woman convinced against her will is of the same opinion still!
    Of course people who want to pray should not be enjoined from so doing, but people who don’t want to pray – or pray publicly, for that matter, shouldn’t be made to feel like freaks or have someone else’s views of prayer, or religion or faith be thrust upon them.
    That’s all I’m sayin’….

  4. ermmm…Now South of the border, we have no state religion, so everyone is free to (and most of them do ) embrace hysterical religiosity…There is something to be said for having the thing in place, so one is free to be as atheistic as one pleases. There was a Gary Wills article in the New Yorker a couple of months back…


Leave a Reply

Categories

